Schematherapie Photo

Schema Therapy

Schema therapy was developed by Jeffrey Young in the 1990s and is therefore a fairly new form of therapy. It is based on the methods of cognitive behavioral therapy and complements it with experience and action-oriented approaches.

A schema is a typical pattern of thoughts, feelings, and sensations that form behavior. These schemes are extremely stable and also the reason why we cannot simply unlearn certain behavior - against better knowledge and experience.

Those affected with harmful patterns feel like they are falling into the same trap again and again. Be it friendships in which they are repeatedly exploited, toxic partnerships or unwanted social isolation. Pathological perfectionism, exaggerated jealousy, fear of attachment, inadequate self-control or self-discipline can also form the basis of these schemes.

During therapy, these schemes are systematically identified and processed with the help of questionnaires. Psychoeducation (the transfer of knowledge about the mental disorder) plays a major role here.

It is complemented by cognitive interventions and experience-based methods such as imagination and chair dialogue.

The aim of the therapy is to replace the maladaptive schemes with healthy, goal-oriented thought and behavior patterns and to integrate them into everyday life.

Schema therapy was originally developed for the treatment of personality disorders. Here it became particularly clear that the sole use of cognitive methods does not achieve sufficient improvement in some patients. Today it is also used in the treatment of chronic depression, anxiety disorderaddictions, eating disorders and attachment disorders with great success

Schematherapie Photo

Schematherapie

Die Schematherapie wurde von Jeffrey Young in den 1990er Jahren entwickelt und ist somit eine recht neue Therapieform. Sie basiert auf den Methoden der kognitiven Verhaltenstherapie und ergänzt sie mit erlebnis- und handlungsorientierten Vorgehensweisen.

Ein Schema ist ein typisches Muster von Gedanken, Gefühlen und Empfindungen, die das Verhalten steuern. Diese Schemata sind äußerst stabil und auch der Grund dafür, warum wir manches Verhalten nicht einfach ablegen können – wider besserem Wissen und Erfahrungen.

Betroffene mit schädlichen Schemata haben das Gefühl, immer wieder in die gleiche Falle zu tappen. Seien es Freundschaften, in denen sie immer wieder ausgenutzt werden, toxische Partnerschaften oder ungewollte soziale Isolation. Auch krankhafter Perfektionismus, übertriebene Eifersucht, Bindungsangst, mangelhafte Selbstkontrolle oder Selbstdisziplin können diesen Schemata zu Grunde liegen.

In der Therapie werden diese Schemata mit Hilfe von Fragebögen systematisch identifiziert und bearbeitet. Dabei spielt die Psychoedukation, also die Wissensvermittlung über die psychische Störung eine große Rolle.

Sie wird durch kognitive Interventionen und erlebnisbasierten Vorgehen wie etwa der Imagination und dem Stuhldialog ergänzt.

Ziel der Therapie ist es, die maladaptiven Schemata durch gesunde, zielführende Denk- und Verhaltensmuster zu ersetzen und in den Alltag zu integrieren.

Die Schematherapie wurde ursprünglich zur Behandlung von Persönlichkeitsstörungen entwickelt, denn hier machte es sich besonders deutlich, dass die alleinige Anwendung von kognitiven Verfahren bei manchen Patienten leider keine ausreichende Besserung erzielt. Heute wird sie auf Grund ihrer guten Wirksamkeit auch bei der Behandlung von chronischen Depressionen, Angststörungen, Süchten, Essstörungen und Beziehungsstörungen mit großem Erfolg eingesetzt.